Studio 27 - wedding video
 
 












Long Island Weddings Vendors ▼

Lessing's Waterfront Mansions - reception location

Mediterranean Manor Caterers - reception location

Sunset Harbour - reception location

Coindre Hall - reception location

Shoes

should we have an engagement party?

yes go for it
22 51.16%
no you've been engaged too long
21 48.84%
Posted By

NEW opinions needed

Soon2BeMrs2006

So much to do so little time

MEMBER SINCE
6/05

10222 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/20/2007 3:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Booked

FH and I have been engaged for a year and a half. his parents had wanted to throw us an eparty a few months after but then his mom had been sick. and then it came to the point where it was about a year before our orginal date of 9/10/06 and with bridal shower and wedding gifts from people we didnt want to have people feell pressured to give an engagement gift too. but now with the date change to next may, we're thinking maybe we should have one, but would that be weird since we've been engaged a year and a half?
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

BlueTulip

BlueTulip

10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 married

MEMBER SINCE
4/05

1508 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
4/28/2006 5:30 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Atlantica-10!

It sounds like you've already had your shower. I usually expect the flow to be engagement party/shower/bachelorette party/wedding. Not that they can't be in a different order, this is just what I am used to. Also, I usually expect and engagement party to be within 6-12 months of engagement. Do what makes sense for your crowd.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

Soon2BeMrs2006

So much to do so little time

MEMBER SINCE
6/05

10222 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/20/2007 3:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Booked

no didnt, but i know in the future i will.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

AlliNMatt06

AlliNMatt06

I'm Married!!!!!!!

MEMBER SINCE
8/04

2915 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
6/25/2006 3:30 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Hamlet Wind Watch A+++++++++

No, I think you should skip it. I think its weird to have an engagment party 1 1/2 after your engagment. That is a long time, and people have already given you gifts.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

suven

suven

Sunny skies on my wedding day!

MEMBER SINCE
8/03

5948 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/30/2004 2:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Leonard's of Great Neck: A

At this point, I think you should skip it
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

N.Y.bride

N.Y.bride

It's A Sickness!

MEMBER SINCE
3/05

5098 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
7/28/2005 11:30 AM

WEDDING LOCATION
Chateau La Mer A++++++

You havent had any shower right?
And you wedding is not for a year and a half?
I'd say definately have an E-party! Why not? You had to wait. You didnt have a choice. I can't see any harm in it.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

Soon2BeMrs2006

So much to do so little time

MEMBER SINCE
6/05

10222 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/20/2007 3:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Booked

Posted by N.Y.bride

You havent had any shower right?
And you wedding is not for a year and a half?
I'd say definately have an E-party! Why not? You had to wait. You didnt have a choice. I can't see any harm in it.



correct i havent had a shower yet, and the wedding was postponed

 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

JennyAl

JennyAl

My tropical wedding!!!!!

MEMBER SINCE
3/05

2184 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/6/2007 6:30 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Crescent Beach Club

we had an engagement party on Jan 05 and our wedding is May 07.....
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

RomeBride

RomeBride

Board Enthusiast

MEMBER SINCE
7/05

246 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
6/1/2006 2:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Italy and Florida

Hmmm I've been thinking about this and I keep going back and forth. I think that you should throw the party since your family wants to show their support and since the reason for postponing everything was out of your control. The fact that you've been together for so long is reason enough to celebrate (we've been together for 8 years, I know hehe.)

I think though that if you do have a party it should not be called an enagement party, but rather a celebration or something like that on the invites. To make it even more clear about your desires, I think you should have your family spread the word that gifts are NOT expected due to the circumstances. I think that is the smartest way to handle things. You have come so far in your relationship and you shouldn't SKIP a party just because of what others will think but you do want to handle it carefully. Let us know what you do please.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

OctoberPrincess2006

OctoberPrincess2006

~Hello~

MEMBER SINCE
12/05

1279 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/28/2006 3:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Leonards- A+

A friend of mine at work is having a small intimate dinner at a local resturant with close family, friends and the bridal party as an engagement party, I thought that this was a very nice idea.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

BJandDan

BJandDan

Happily Married :)

MEMBER SINCE
6/05

4440 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
7/1/2006 11:30 AM

WEDDING LOCATION
Westbury Manor- A+++

It sounds as if you only postponed having one is because the mom got sick. I don't see any reason why you shouldn't have one. You only get married once :)
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

hsacks23r

hsacks23r

I was a fun bride

MEMBER SINCE
1/05

5992 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
5/13/2006 6:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Three Village Inn

I say GO FOR IT
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: opinions needed

2003wedding.

2003wedding.

"I'm Addicted"

MEMBER SINCE
6/02

2145 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
7/5/2003 3:00 AM

WEDDING LOCATION

Posted by BJandDan

It sounds as if you only postponed having one is because the mom got sick. I don't see any reason why you shouldn't have one. You only get married once :)



i agree
i actually had mine way past my engagement--1 1/2 yrs too and 1 year b/f my wedding--longgg engagement!
-like bj&dan said-you only get married once---i really wanted to celebrate and would have regreted not havingone b/c it was so much fun! it's a special time and should be celebrated!!!

 
 
FROM SOMETHING BLUE... TO SOMETHINGS NEW! Personalize your wedding with the Long Island Weddings Shop.
Favor tags

Favor tags
$0.75

b-01 bracelet

b-01 bracelet
$89.00