Long Island Weddings Vendors ▼

Lessing's Waterfront Mansions - reception location

Larkfield - reception location

Mediterranean Manor Caterers - reception location

All Star Limousine Service Ltd. - limousines

Christi Marie Creative - Invitations

Home Improvements

Posted By

NEW DIY Brides.. I need opinions

Dee606

Dee606

I'm Mrs E.W !

MEMBER SINCE
7/06

4371 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
9/29/2007 11:30 AM

WEDDING LOCATION
The Royalton Mansion

So I stumbled across this site that sells flip flops with rhinestones..and they have the nerve to sell them for $80!!!! Would you mind taking a look at the website & lettting me know if this is a possible DIY? I can get the flip flops from Old Navy but will the rhinestones cost a lot of money? What type of adhesive would you use? I was thinking a glue gun or crazy glue.

thx

flip flops
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

melissankurt07

melissankurt07

Loving the married life!!!

MEMBER SINCE
3/07

3186 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/6/2007 1:30 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
booked

I have never tried this DIY project before but I do not see why you can't make them. You can buy the rhinestones at Michael's and adhere them to the flip flops from Old Navy. I would use a glue gun but I would get either the low temp or I think they even make one that doesn't get hot at all because I would think that the "hot" glue might melt the thong part a little. But I definitely think you could make them. Post pictures if you do them.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

AlmostKulak

AlmostKulak

Mrs. Kulak

MEMBER SINCE
11/06

1674 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
8/11/2007 1:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Castanea Picnic Grounds

It looks like it could be a very easy DIY, i would use a low temp glue gun. Post pics if you do it.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

gaccrrm

gaccrrm

I'm a MRS!!!!!

MEMBER SINCE
9/04

1896 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/27/2007 3:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION

It looks easy. I would just think it would be very time consuming depending on how many you have to make.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

Dee606

Dee606

I'm Mrs E.W !

MEMBER SINCE
7/06

4371 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
9/29/2007 11:30 AM

WEDDING LOCATION
The Royalton Mansion

Thanks everyone. I only have to make 3 pairs so It shouldn't take me that long to finish. If I decide to do it, i'll post pics
 
 

MESSAGE EDITED5/19/2007 9:55:14 AM

POSTED 5/19/07 9:49 AM



Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

poogie

poogie

"It was just how we wanted!"

MEMBER SINCE
10/06

2099 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
6/23/2007 4:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Freeport Yacht Club

IT IS A DIY PROJECT...JUST USE THE BIG STONES OR USE A VARIETY...TIME CONSUMING=YES DEPENDING ON HOW MUCH BLING YOU REALLY WANT....GO FOR IT....YOU CAN GET THE FLOPS FROM WALMART OR SOMEWHERE AND THEN GET THE STONES.....USE THE TACKY GLUE OR GLUE GUN AND PUT ON.......I WOULD TRY AND PUT MY FEET IN TO STRETCH TO SIZE SO IT DOESNT STRETCH ONCE YOU PUT THEM ON
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

Dee606

Dee606

I'm Mrs E.W !

MEMBER SINCE
7/06

4371 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
9/29/2007 11:30 AM

WEDDING LOCATION
The Royalton Mansion

Posted by poogie

IT IS A DIY PROJECT...JUST USE THE BIG STONES OR USE A VARIETY...TIME CONSUMING=YES DEPENDING ON HOW MUCH BLING YOU REALLY WANT....GO FOR IT....YOU CAN GET THE FLOPS FROM WALMART OR SOMEWHERE AND THEN GET THE STONES.....USE THE TACKY GLUE OR GLUE GUN AND PUT ON.......I WOULD TRY AND PUT MY FEET IN TO STRETCH TO SIZE SO IT DOESNT STRETCH ONCE YOU PUT THEM ON



That;s a great idea about trying them on.

 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

PreshusSmurf

PreshusSmurf

Beyond Obsession

MEMBER SINCE
5/06

7768 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
11/10/2007 7:30 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
North Ritz Club

Just don't use the hot glue gun while you've got the flip flops on!
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

PattyK

PattyK

Happy Holidays To All!

MEMBER SINCE
2/07

8992 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/7/2007 12:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Awesome Place

I definetly think that it is something that you could do your self. I would get the flip flops from either old navy or target and the rhinestones from Michaels and you'll be set. Post pictures if you make them.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

SuzArtie69

SuzArtie69

We did it!!!! Mr & Mrs Miller

MEMBER SINCE
8/06

1856 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/27/2007 4:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Douglaston Manor

It's a DIY for sure. Have you looked at Payless, Avon or just around your neighborhood.

Do a search online for flip flops,, but you could just use tacky glue & rhinestones from a craft store.

Have fun trying them out and if I find something I'll post it for you.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

SuzArtie69

SuzArtie69

We did it!!!! Mr & Mrs Miller

MEMBER SINCE
8/06

1856 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/27/2007 4:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Douglaston Manor

I found these on Avon's website for 12.99 -
I didn't resize the pic, but this is cheaper than $80.
 
 
Posted By

NEW Re: DIY Brides.. I need opinions

SuzArtie69

SuzArtie69

We did it!!!! Mr & Mrs Miller

MEMBER SINCE
8/06

1856 TOTAL POSTS

WEDDING DATE
10/27/2007 4:00 PM

WEDDING LOCATION
Douglaston Manor

Posted by SuzArtie69

I found these on Avon's website for 12.99 -
I didn't resize the pic, but this is cheaper than $80.



Sorry the image is giving me problem, it was from
Avon though called Sparkling Circle Rhinestone flip flops for 12.99 came in white & black.

 
 
FROM SOMETHING BLUE... TO SOMETHINGS NEW! Personalize your wedding with the Long Island Weddings Shop.
cuff bracelet

cuff bracelet
$55.00